#### **CHARTER**

# INFORMATIONAL TECHNOLOGY GOVERNANCE ENTERPRISE DATA COORDINATING COMMITTEE

## **MISSION**

The Enterprise Data Coordinating Committee has as its specific mission the creation and maintenance of policies, standards and procedures to ensure that important enterprise data assets are formally managed throughout the University. Enterprise data governance should ensure that data can be trusted and that accountability for data quality and protection exists.

## **PRINCIPLES**

- Providing quality data is a critical success factor for the University
- University data should be managed and protected by individuals responsible for compliance with federal, state, UNC system, and UNC Chapel Hill policies, standards and procedures regarding data privacy, security, and appropriate usage
- University data should be available to enable decision making for the good of the University

## **DECISION DOMAINS**

Committee members will consider issues associated with the management of electronic data and formulate recommendations to the CIO and/or Information Technology Governance Executive Steering Committee (ITESC) for policies and standards related to enterprise data including data protection, data quality, ownership (and authorization to use), formal management and compliance with federal, state, UNC system, and UNC Chapel Hill policies, standards and procedures.

The Enterprise Data Coordinating Committee will be responsible for:

- Establishment of **policy**, **standards and some procedures** about University enterprise data
- Defining **roles and responsibilities** of those who make decisions about University data
- Continual review of policies and standards ensuring **appropriate protection** of enterprise data
- Establishment of policy and standards around the collection, distribution and appropriate use of enterprise data
- **Recommend projects** and provide oversight for those projects necessary to implement a clear and consistent data quality effort across the identified data sources for reporting and data analysis

## **MEMBERSHIP**

All committee members have a two-year term and could be extended for an additional two-years as approved by the CIO. The chairperson will rotate every two years and be selected by the CIO. Each committee member is expected to participate with a perspective of the University's needs rather than representing the interests or needs of a particular school or department.

There are two sub-committees that are designed to work in concert with the Steering Committee to create policies, standards and procedures. The Steering Committee's focus is policy. The recommendation for a policy, including a draft, may come from either of the other two sub-committees. The Functional Sub-Committee and Regulatory Sub-Committee will make recommendations to the Steering Committee on needed policies or modifications to existing policies. In addition, these two sub-committees will draft any standards and University-wide procedures needed for carrying out the policies defined by the Steering Committee. All committees will function as advisors to the other two committees.

Committee members as of 2016 are as follows:

**Steering Committee - Policy** 

Name	Area	Title
Chris Derickson (Chair)	Student	Assistant Provost & University Registrar
Susan Kellogg	ITS	Associate Vice Chancellor & Deputy CIO
Representative from Finance chosen by Matt Fajack	Finance	Senior Associate Vice Chancellor, Finance and Administration
Andy Johns	Research	Senior Associate Vice Chancellor, Research
Vicki Bradley	HR	Director, Workforce Strategy, Equity, and Engagement
Lynn Williford	IR	Assistant Provost & Director of Institutional Research
Phyllis Petree	Representative of the Regulatory Committee	Director, Internal Audit
Kim Stahl	Ex officio	Committee liaison – ITS Policy Office

## Functional Sub-Committee – Standards and execution (meets bi-monthly)

Name	Area	Title
Chris Derickson (Chair)	Student	Assistant Provost & University Registrar
Rich Arnold	HR	Senior Director, HR Information
		Management
Representative from Finance	Finance	
chosen by Matt Fajack		
Scott Jackson	ITS	Director, ITS Business Intelligence

Fran Dykstra	ITS – EA	Assistant Vice Chancellor, ITS
		Enterprise Applications
Mel Jones	Research	Director, Analytics and Business
		Intelligence
Rick Root	Development	Manager, Application and Web Services
	Data	
Molly O'Keefe	Representative	Assistant Dean for Strategic Analysis &
	of UNC	Planning, Gillings School of Global
	Schools	Public Health
Patsy Oliver	Representative	Associate Dean for Finance & Business,
	of UNC	School of Medicine
	Schools	
Kim Stahl	Ex officio	Committee liaison – ITS Policy Office

**Regulatory Operations Sub-Committee – Compliance (meets bi-monthly)** 

	0011111111111	- Piletie (111008 21 111011111)
Name	Area	Title
	Representing	
Chris Derickson (Chair)	FERPA	Assistant Provost & University Registrar
Lee Bolinger	OUC	Associate University Counsel
Kevin Lanning	IT Security	Chief Information Security Officer
Phyllis Petree	Audit	Director of Internal Audit
Nicholas Graham	Records	University Archivist
Micki Jernigan	Privacy	Chief Privacy Officer
Kim Stahl	Ex officio	Committee liaison – ITS Policy Office

## **PROCEDURES**

- Committee activities Committee and sub-committee support will be provided by the committee liaison, Kim Stahl.
- Agendas and meeting structure The chairperson will collaborate on agenda items necessary. He will circulate agendas in advance of each meeting to ensure informed discussions of scheduled topics.
- Reporting The chairperson will raise issues and recommendations, as needed, to the IT Executive Steering Committee as necessary.
- Documentation of proceedings All meetings shall have notes of discussions, recommendations and action items.

<b>Effective Date:</b>	
<b>Revised Date:</b>	