Skip to main content
2019 IT Award winners
2019 IT Award winners

Three teams and seven individuals received IT Awards on November 5 for their outstanding work over the past year serving UNC-Chapel Hill.

The 2019 IT Awards Committee selected the honorees from among one of the largest groups of nominees in recent memory — 78 individuals and 28 teams.

The team recipients of the 2019 IT Awards were:

  • UNC Check-In App project team of Jay Bazemore, Garrett Cook, Yun Fan, Tim Harper, Jeremiah Joyner, Kerry O’Sullivan, Suneel Potiny and Ashley Willis
  • Student Affairs custom application and server team of Duncan Riley, Charles Streeter and Diana Woodhouse
  • Tableau implementation team of Stephen Braswell, Patrick Casey, Chuck Crews, David Eiselman, John Godehn, Bain Heffner, Bruce Messick, Patrick Murphy, Matthew Rice and Paul Szabady

The individuals honored with awards were:

  • Jackson Cox, Technology Support Specialist for the College of Arts & Sciences
  • Grant Harrison, Tech Support Analyst for POB Hub
  • Ann Lehew, Business System Analyst for ConnectCarolina
  • David Mills, Informational Tech Professional for Ophthalmology
  • Ryan Neve, IT Coordinator for UNC Institute of Marine Sciences
  • Chris Williams, Director of Student Affairs Information Technology
  • Ferenc Zsuppan, IT Infrastructure Supervisor at UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center

Going above and beyond

The IT Awards Committee is made up of the prior year’s award recipients. In their selection process, the committee members considered versatility and going above and beyond. They gave equal weight to the overall value provided, such as project size, impact or customer service. The committee also considered the number and quality of nominations for each nominee.

“It’s a great privilege to continue this tradition of recognizing amazing IT professionals from across campus,” said Leslie Kreizman, Customer Support Specialist and chair of the 2019 committee.

The IT Awards ceremony is held in conjunction with the CTC Retreat each year. The IT Awards were originated in the spring of 1992 by OIT.

Many great nominations

“We always get far more people nominated than we could possibly recognize with awards,” Kreizman told the crowd in the Carolina Union auditorium. “That speaks to the number of outstanding technologists on campus, but also to how much you are appreciated by the people you support. It was difficult to choose from so many great nominations.”

Provost Bob Blouin joined the ceremony to help recognize the outstanding IT professionals from across campus.

To view additional photos from the awards ceremony, please visit ITS’ Flickr.

Comments are closed.