The UNC-Chapel Hill data network currently supports more than 40,000 users with over 100,000 connected devices seen on a daily basis in over 300 buildings with high-speed interconnectivity between buildings. The core routing architecture consists of a redundant infrastructure with 40 Gbps inter-switch connectivity and multiple 10 Gbps links to redundant border routers. The campus network has approximately 4,000 Ethernet switches and 8,000 Wi-Fi access points.

Help and more information

Help Documents Network Access Control FAQ Acceptable Use Policy Network Security FAQ Campus VPN

Data networking

UNC-Chapel Hill connects to the statewide network, NCREN (North Carolina Research and Education Network), that provides connectivity to all schools in the UNC system, all K-12 schools in the state of North Carolina, many private colleges and universities, community colleges, state government, and the North Carolina TeleHealth Network (NCTN). Through NCREN, UNC-Chapel Hill connects via IPv4 and IPv6 to Internet2 for connectivity to other universities across the country and to multiple ISPs for commodity Internet services.

The data networking staff is responsible for development, deployment, management and maintenance of data communications on the UNC-Chapel Hill campus data backbone and data communications within all University buildings. These services are of an evolving nature given the historical leading edge nature of the data network users at Carolina.

  • Physical layer network infrastructure design, installation and maintenance services for Ethernet and 802.11 wireless
  • Network electronics/device configuration, installation, management and maintenance services
  • Network electronics firmware maintenance
  • Network electronics design for intra-building
  • Network electronics design for inter-building (backbone)
  • Documentation of network electronics
  • Proactive network benchmarking and monitoring
  • Administration of internal systems required for delivery of services and network management
  • Network consulting/troubleshooting for IP
  • Internet and Internet2 connectivity from the UNC-Chapel Hill campus
  • Connectivity to off-campus departments
  • Information dissemination: Web
  • On-going research and evaluation efforts, with results leading to campus network design evolution
Click here to view data networking policies  Current Issues

Data networking resources

Connections to MCNC

Border-MCNC-Web

Jim Gogan, Director
gogan@email.unc.edu
919-445-0123

Network operations

Cindy Henshaw
crhine@email.unc.edu
919-445-0115

Dee Jarrell
djarrell@email.unc.edu
919-445-0117

Robert Henderson, Jr
robert_henderson@unc.edu
(919) 445-8080

Ryan Turner, Manager
rhturner@email.unc.edu
919-445-0113

Network deployment

David Valleroy, Manager
djvaller@email.unc.edu
919-445-9265

Kelly Boley
Kelly_boley@unc.edu
919-445-9513

Reid Bradsher
reid1123@email.unc.edu
919-445-8317

Len Needham
needham@email.unc.edu
919-445-9255

Danny Stubbs
danny_stubbs@unc.edu
919-445-9245

Mary Wezyk
foscue@unc.edu
919-445-9430

Jerry Woodside
jerry_woodside@unc.edu
919-445-9518

Network systems and services

Hiawatha Demby
hdemby@email.unc.edu
919-445-0119

Chris Florio
florio@email.unc.edu
919-445-0112

Sid Stafford
sstafford@unc.edu
919-445-0124

Wide area networking

Danny Shue
danny_shue@unc.edu
919-445-0121

Adair Thaxton
sthaxton@email.unc.edu
919-445-0116

Wireless Networking

Todd Lane, Manager
todd@email.unc.edu
919-445-0118

Alan Murray
alanm@email.unc.edu
919-445-0114

Eric Maynor
eric_maynor@unc.edu
919-445-9256

Last Updated on 08/11/2016

FIXED RATE PRICES FOR NETWORKING EQUIPMENT BILLCODE DESCRIPTION  AMOUNT  
NETUPS  SINGLE UPS  $1,704.14
NETUPSBATTPK  UPS BATTERY PACK  $405.72
WAP  INDOOR WIRELESS ACCESS POINT  $1,500.00 
NET48G3SWTCH  48-PORT GIG SWITCH NETWORK SERVICE  $7,061.82
NETWORK DEPLOYMENT LABOR RATE (PER HOUR)  $70.00